Close But Only 3 Drops

Since we are farmers, we are expected to be excessively interested in the weather.

Right? Well, we are.

 

So, I think it is OK that when I see a storm, I immediately insist on:

first – taking a picture – and

second – sharing it with you; because I know you expect it of me and I am just trying to live up to your expectations.

storm pictures

Actually, I took two pictures.

storm 2

We didn’t get more than 3 drops of rain from this storm. Talk about a near miss!

 

Pepper Update

We started picking some red peppers. So, if you are waiting for the red peppers to make your pepper relish: NOW is the time! Call and reserve your bushel today.

red peppers

 

Pick Your Own Update

There are three more varieties of peaches left, so come on out before the season ends. These last varieties are very nice peaches. Pick-your-own hours are 7am – noon Monday, Wednesday and Saturday.

 

End of the Season alert

Remember: Labor Day is our last day!

Facebook

Thanks to everyone who “liked” us on Facebook and posted such nice comments. At this point I’m still not exactly sure how to use it, but I’ll get the hang of it soon. Maybe. I hope.

 

If you use Facebook, and haven’t looked us up … click here… Godfrey’s Farm.

 

Family Life

OK. I have a small “life experience” to share with you, just for fun. If you aren’t interested in child rearing problems, just press delete. I’m all done with crop updates.

 

If you have any advice, go to the Facebook page and post your comments. (I think that is what Facebook is all about… Isn’t it?)  or just email me if that’s more your style.

 

Here’s what happens at our house most nights… I get home after working all day and try to come up with something that looks a little like dinner to put on the table. After lots of hard work and creative aspirations (do you feel sorry for me yet?), I finally present… (drum roll please) … DINNER…

 

I call the children to the table, promptly sit down and begin to inhale large quantities of food… you know, I’m kinda hungry…

 

The lovely children take awhile to finish whatever they are doing, gather whatever it is they gather, and finally join the “family” after several minutes pass.

 

Meanwhile, Tom and I are pretty much done.

 

The girls sit down and promptly begin negotiating about the contents of the plate, like, “Do I have to eat the tomatoes?” etc, etc. And dinner goes on for another painful 30 – 45 minutes.

 

Meanwhile, I am ready to go to bed!

 

So, last night I had an idea mid-dinner. I said, “Let’s see who can finish first! Jane or Emily. Ready, set, GO!” And the real eating began…

jane eats

emily eat

jane eat 2

You would not have believed it! 60 seconds max! All done. “Time to put the dishes in the dishwasher and brush your teeth…” You guessed it… “Ready, Set, GO!” The next race began. “Put your pajamas on… Ready, set, GO!” “Jump in bed and turn out the lights! Ready, Set, GO!”

 

Life is bliss. Plenty of sleep last night. No yelling or nagging. Just one happy family.

 

Big question: Will it work again tonight?

 

Hope to see you soon.

This entry was posted in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment